Poor at heart


An old beggar passed through an old village. He knocked on the door of a big beautiful house, with a tall barn and a large iron padlock on the gate. In this house lived a man, known in the village for his miserliness: he never helped people, even though he was very rich.

“Please give me some meat or milk?” – asked the beggar.

The miser replied roughly: “No, I can’t! Go away!”

“Maybe you can give me some wheat or beans?” – kept asking the beggar, forced by hunger to humiliate himself.

“I don’t have anything!” – said the miser.

“Then give me a piece of bread, and I will be grateful.” – said the beggar.

“Go away, I don’t have bread!” – was the miser’s reply.

“At least give me some water? I’m very thirsty!”

“I don’t have water.” – screamed the miser.

Then said the beggar: “Oh, my son, why are you sitting here then? Stand up and start begging food from the good people. You are even poorer than I am!”

Leave a Reply

