Life Sentence (Humor)


A woman wakes up in the middle of the night to find her husband missing from the bed. She walks downstairs to look for him and finds him sitting at the dining table holding a cup of coffee. He was staring, deep in thought, at the wall ahead. She watched as he gently wiped a tear off his face.

“What’s the matter, dear?” she whispered as she came round and put her arm around him. “Why are you down here at this time of the night?”

The husband looked up from his coffee. “Do you remember, when we were dating twenty years ago.. you were only eighteen..”

“Yes, I remember” she replied.

The husband paused. Words were not coming out easily for him. “Do you remember, your dad once caught us when we were in the garden? He pointed a rifle at me and said – “You marry my daughter or I’ll have you sent to Jail for the next twenty years.”

“I remember.” said she.

The husband wiped another tear ; “I was just thinking.. had I chosen otherwise, I would’ve been a free man today.”

Leave a Reply

